The Arabian Jockey Club is a nationally chartered non-profit organization dedicated to the promotion and education of the Arabian racing industry in the United States.

Arabian racing was organized in the U.S. around 1959. After experiencing initial growth, today’s Arabian horses are finding their niche in the racing industry along with Thoroughbreds, Quarter Horses and other breeds. In recent years new opportunities have arisen for competitive Arabian racehorses at major racetracks across the country. It is apparent that the Arabian’s acceptance into the racing world has been positive and that many betting interests are actually favoring Arabians.

Created by a broad cross section of Arabian racing enthusiasts, the AJC is a natural outgrowth of the Arabian Horse Association’s initial effort to support the expanding racing industry.

The AJC was officially chartered as a non-profit organization in December 1987 to represent Arabian racing in the U.S. In 1995, the AJC was reorganized and chartered as a Colorado corporation and is now under the auspices of the Purebred Arabian Trust.

The AJC also has the support and works closely with the Arabian Racing Cup, the Thoroughbred Racing Protective Bureau and the Racing Commissioners International and is a member of the Racing Medication and Testing Consortium.  Since 1996, the AJC is represented on the Board of Stewards of the Arabian Racing Cup.

The AHA Racing Commission and AJC Racing Committee members and their contact information are listed to the right. For more information, please contact Susan Meyer.

Board of Directors

Susan Meyer – President

Kathryn Smoke – Vice-President

Bruce Johnson – Sec/Treasurer

Hamp Johnston – Director

Howard Pike – Director

Graded Stakes Committee

Joe Willis – Chairperson

Jon Heningsgard

Jonathan Horowitz

Paul B Husband

Alan Kirshner

Joe Neville

Amanda Roxborough

Racing Commission

Susan Meyer – Chair

Paul Husband

Deb Mihaloff Kirshner

Joe Willis

Susan Willis

Michele Youngdale

Race Mentors

USA Arabian Race Mentors

East Coat Region – DEB MIHALOFF –

Upper Midwest, Dakotas, Canada and International – KATHY SMOKE –

West Coast Region – CORY SOLTAU –



Please contact via email the named mentor for the region or state you live in.

Special Projects Committee

Lynn Bennett

Hall of Fame / Tent of Honor Committee

Claudia Spears – Chairperson

Lynn Ashby

Stephanie Corum

Michael Economopolis

Paul Husband

Deborah Mihaloff-Kirshner

Contact Us

Arabian Jockey Club 

10805 E Bethany Drive

Aurora, CO 80014

Phone: (303) 696-4570

Fax: (303) 696-4599


Office hours: Monday – Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm MST.

We value your comments. Send us your recommendations, criticisms, creative ideas and most importantly, let us know how we can serve you better.